I think it was Elizabeth Zimmermann who admonished us to be the boss of our knitting. I’m continually experiencing the wisdom of that, but am apparently a slow learner. I recently (as in four days ago, on Christmas Eve, just three short hours before we started opening the presents) finished this Christmas present for my daughter:

freedomspiritjakke FO

Pattern: Kragejakke i 3-trådsgarn from Strikk til nøstebarn.

Yarn: Freedom Spirit by Twilley’s of Stamford, #502, almost 4 balls.

Needles: Addi Turbos 3 mm and 3.5 mm.  

Modifications: None. This pattern is very well thought-out and easy to follow. It is knit in one piece from the waist and the sleeves are knit in the round until you start the raglan decreases.

As you can see, I had a problem with some truly hideous pooling on the lower fronts. I could see it right away, but for some reason managed to convince myself that it would look alright once it was finished and the buttonbands installed. I often claim that my motto is “if something is worth doing, it’s worth doing well”, but my knitting belies it…

After all the fiddliness of installing buttonbands correctly (I ripped out one and redid it because it pulled in too much), I needed some mindless knitting and have churned out six dishcloths of various designs. I’m now in the process of trying out the mitered hanging towel design from the new Mason-Dixon knitting book. I’m knitting it in a linen-cotton yarn and if I do say so myself, it’s looking lovely.

