Baby set
Originally uploaded by ceecrochet.

I’ve been trying to teach myself to knit. Using magazines and different web sites, it’s actually not that hard.

This is baby set (a bib and a wash cloth) that I’ve knitted over the past few days. It’s knit in Schachenmayr Nomotta Catania (100 % cotton) in a solid dark green and a green/white/yellow variegated yarn. Both items are inspired by the pictures on the Mason-Dixon KAL. I found the dishcloth pattern here, however. The book, while it seems very cool, is hard to get here, and in order to satisfy my craving for instant knitterly gratification, I just started knitting in garter stitch for the bib. While it doesn’t seem to be part of the pattern, I decreased a few stitches at the ends of the tabs. I also added two stitches in stockinette stitch on both sides in order to get a rolled-in edge.

Oh, and the dish cloth is edged in single crochet on the two sides, as the edges were very messy, and I also wanted a solid dark green border on all sides.

Both are knitted on 3.5 mm circulars. Circulars are less hard on the arms than straight needles, but the wire was too long (80 cm), so it kept curling up all over the place. I need more needles!

