Don’t get me wrong: it was a great learning experience knitting the one sock. But it really doesn’t begin to compare with the thrill of finishing my first pair.

Opal cotton socks

FO: Simple stockinette socks,  started 25 January, finished 9 February.

Yarn: Opal cotton (48 % cotton, 39 % wool, 13 % polyamid)

Yarn source: Mauds garn

Needles: 2.5 mm Inox (?) dpns

Specifications: Knit top down over 60 stitches, with the continental heel from Knitting without tears and the rounded toe from Knitting on the Road.

Thoughts: I loved knitting these socks! The yarn was soft and easy to work with, the stockinette was marvellously quick compared to the allover ribbing of my first sock (and the fit is as good or better!) I’m very happy with these socks. Now I just have to stop myself from taking my shoes off in public to show them off.

