I don’t often make cookies, and when I do, I tend to ignore the scrupulously exact gram measurements in the recipes and just guesstimate the amounts. This approach has served me well. In other recipes, I prefer the ones with volume rather than weight amounts. So why did I suddenly feel the need for a kitchen scale? And not just any scale, a glass electronic scale?

Well, there are other things you can weigh with it too, you know.

scales

I’ve played around with it a lot already, checking the amounts of yarn spent on the Moderne Baby Blanket so far, and how much I’ll likely use to finish it. It told me that two balls of Garnstudio Paris would be just enough for two ballband dishcloths:

ballband dishcloths

(The ubiquitous pattern from Mason-Dixon Knitting, in Garnstudio Paris, on 4.5 mm Addis).

Did you notice the numbers on the display in the top picture, by the way? After finishing block 8 of the Moderne Baby Blanket, it weighs in at 125 grams. In the pattern yarn, the finished blanket should weigh close to 600 grams. I’m so happy I got the thin, lightweight merino from Bånsull for this blanket. It’ll be just the right airy, squishy blanket to layer in the stroller and to use at the hospital. In spring, it will be perfect to shade the stroller from direct sunlight while providing a little air.

Moderne baby blanket progress

I’ve just started on block 9. By the way, the book has a slight error at this point in the pattern. Rather than place a marker between blocks 3 and 7 and pick up 54 stitches in each colour (108) in total, you should pick up 63 stitches with each colour, placing the marker in the middle, where the colours change (126 stitches total). 

