Saturday was a day to remember. I got to visit a new-to-me yarn shop, one that was recommended to me by a woman on the Crochetville forum. Woll-Insel is a tiny shop in a non-descript Vienna street, and it is absolutely packed with yarn. Now, normally that’s a compliment, but in this case it’s more equivocal. You see, the shop is practically unnavigable because of all the mobile shelving units packed with yarn. I wanted to buy some sock yarn, but it was hidden behind two mobile shelving units that were impossible to move because there was no space to move them to. The shop’s owner was unable to access it, and I certainly couldn’t squeeze my eight-month-pregnant belly past the shelves.

On the other hand, they had a great variety of all-wool yarns (a rarity for me) and at very reasonable prices. I got:

King Cole Merino Blend superwash

Five balls of King Cole Merino Blend Superwash, three balls in red and two in a mustardy yellow. This is intended for the Amelie Dress from Natural Knits for Babies and Moms for my daughter. I am planning to amend the pattern to knit the dress in the round.

Schoeller + Stahl Limbo Superwash

And this is the purchase I’m most excited about: Schoeller + Stahl Limbo Superwash in a terracotta-like brownish red. I got 14 balls, which should be plenty for my first knit sweater!  I’m excited as a child just thinking about it. Now, the problem is that I am, as mentioned above, eight months pregnant. There’s no point in measuring me for the sweater dimensions, and I don’t really have any woollen sweaters I can measure, as they’re all either too tight or too wide (hence the dream of knitting one for myself).  So for the time being I will probably have to content myself with swatching and planning. Here are the ideas I have so far:

  • A relatively narrow boat neck, probably using short rows to raise the back neck
  • Possibly raglan, knit in the round
  • 3/4 length sleeves (my absolute favourite)
  • Hems rather than ribbing
  • Waist shaping – but maybe using ribbing rather than increases/decreases (??)
  • Not a great deal of ease, but enough to wear a tank top or t-shirt underneath

I don’t know the techniques involved in most of the above points, so really, I have enough to occupy the next few months before casting on for the sweater. I don’t know if I want any sort of pattern stitch. I like cables, but I’m not sure they’ll look so great in such a sweater, or that the yarn will give them the necessary definition. Lace is out, as I want an easy knit and a simple, versatile look.

If you have comments or ideas that could help a first-time sweater knitter, I’d be delighted to hear from you. I see a long and winding road ahead.

