So. Remember this?

log cabin FO

The Moderne Baby Blanket, which took three months to knit and which I packed in the hospital bag with me? The Moderne Baby Blanket, which was my first gift to my daughter? A week and a half ago, we took the Moderne Baby Blanket with us to a Sunday Brunch with friends. On the way back to the car afterwards, we decided to stop by a kiosk for some newspapers. While my husband carried our daughter, wrapped in her blanket, in the car seat, the blanket must have fallen out. We noticed after a couple of minutes, and I retraced our steps from the kiosk to the restaurant. It can’t have been gone more than ten to fifteen minutes, but in that time, some #¤#%”#! must have picked it up and stolen it.

It’s gone. I’ve been to the restaurant and the kiosk twice to ask for it. I’ve looked everywhere along the route we walked. It’s gone.

I’m sad for so many reasons. It was the ideal baby blanket – very light and compact to carry, but also very warm and cuddly. But mainly I’m sad because it’s something I worked very hard on and was very proud of, and something that connected me to my daughter while she wasn’t even born. I couldn’t even blog about it, that’s how sad I was. But I did share my frustration and sadness on Ravelry, and Christine of heidelblogging made a comment that I wanted to share:

Think that one day, you can knit this blanket again, but for her first baby, and tell her the story; it will have even more meaning. Knitting is more than stitches and yarn, I think. It’s also history.

