When I realised that I wanted to start spinning somewhat seriously, I started looking at fibre clubs. A fibre club is a great way to challenge yourself both in terms of fibre type and colour choices, and they usually work out cheaper than ordering similar quantities separately. There are a few very popular ones, but mostly in the US. In Europe, I’ve found two. Fyberspates was the first one I found, and I signed up for their 3 month spinning fibre club (the normal one, they also have a 5 month luxury fibre club – that’ll have to wait until my spinning improves!). Today I received my first shipment, the April fibre. It’s 100 g 129 g (I just weighed it – such a nice bonus!) of superwash merino, and I love it!

Fyberspatesclub1 001

I don’t think I would have chosen these colours myself, and that’s part of the reason why I like the fibre club. Jen of Fyberspates clearly has better colour sense than me (even most moles have better colour sense than me!) and I can’t wait to see what this colourway will look like spun – and even knit – up.

But I got the greatest thrill when I opened up the little bag of goodies that Jen included to apologise for some shipping troubles:

Fyberspatesclub1 002

Silk hankies in the plum and gold colourway. I LOVE these colours together, and have been stalking this very offering on the Fyberspates website. I was a little sad when they suddenly disappeared, actually. I can’t wait to spin this up.

PS! In case you’re wondering, the other fibre club I found, only recently, is The Yarn Yard. I’ve heard good things about them, and they have superwash BFL as well as merino/tencel that I want to try. I may try their club eventually, once I’ve spun up the Fyberspates stuff. That will be a while, I’m sure.

